The ‘Twelve 12s’ series is back again for its twenty third installment and this time its a proto dubstep mix from the homie Akuma! Akuma has been rocking it for over 15 years, promoting nights as part of the Swallow collective, even before leaving school, and after holding down the classic breakbeat/garage night 'Score' in Brighton, he headed back to London to start running 'What It Is' at Chapel Bar. He's currently one third of AON Promotions whose iPod and DJ Battle nights at Hive Bar, Brixton are the jump off (we had a blast there last month!). When Akuma's not behind the decks tearing it up you can also find him rockin the mic on the regular at HHK, his rendition of 'Slow Jamz' earlier this year, one of my highlights of the past five years of doing it, freal! Known for playing across the board with a strong love of hip-hop, Akuma has blessed us with a dope mix of 12"s that were the forerunners to what we now know more simply as dubstep…ah, I'll let him explain better! "The early 00's were a different time. A more innocent time. A time with no dubstep as we know it. But out of the ashes of the garage/2-step scene, a new sound was emerging. Taking garage as it's starting point, this new music took influences from hip-hop, dub, and jungle to create an all together more bassy and ballsy take on the existing 2-step flavours. These early releases pioneered a sound that was to evolve into the bass-heavy half-step of the dubstep we know and love today. This mix rounds up a number of seminal releases from the likes of Kode 9, Horsepower, El-B and Oris Jay which were instrumental in dubstep's development. Enjoy!" -Akuma So there you have it, and in case you missed the first twenty three instalments from Rob, Superix, James Lebens, DJ Ayres, DJ Dub, DJ Hudson, Matt Evans, Spin Doctor, Matthew Africa, Cosmo Baker, DJ Eleven, Big Jacks, Drew Huge, Donsta. J-Squared, Superix, 7L, Rookie, DJ Co-Op, Superix, Matt Evans & Y.O.K.O. – you can still catch them here and watch out for another ‘Twelve 12s coming very soon… For tracklisting and running order – see the cover – or here it is below:

01. Madslinky & J.T. – The Fog
02. Highplains Drifter featuring Goldspot Productions – Sholay (Epic Mix)
03. Elephant Man – Log On (Horsepower Productions Radio Version)
04. Benny Ill, Kode 9 The Culprit – Fat Larry's Skank
05. El-B featuring Juiceman – Digital
06. Artwork – Red
07. Menta & Ms Dynamite – Red
08. Musical Mob – Pulse X
09. Menta – Sounds Of Da Future
10. Darqwan – Said The Spider
11. Visionary – Acid Flex (Oris Jay Remix)
12. Megablast featuring Aminata – Showgirlz (20,000 Leagues Under The Sea Version)