Twelve 12’s Live Vinyl Mix: 56 – DJ Hudson – Daft Punk Special! by Southern Hospitality on Mixcloud

The ‘Twelve 12s’ are back once again with our 56th all live vinyl mix! We’ve got our man DJ Hudson back in and he’s put together  this incredible – all Daft Punk mix, just in time for the eve of the release of their latest, highly anticipated album, ‘Random Access Memories’  Here’s what Hudson had to say:

Daft Punk are everywhere with what seems to be the most anticipated album release for a long time, which is the perfect opportunity to pick some personal favourites from the back catalogue of the Daft Punk family. Along with some of their own tracks are also remixes for others such as Gabrielle and old label mates Scott Grooves, remixes of their work by The Neptunes and DJ Sneak and some stuff for the rarely mentioned Roule imprint, a label for Bangalter and friends to release some of their more harder, ‘basic’ tracks (check out this article on the releases on the label

For me, the attraction to their music was instant – it sounded new and different to everything else at the time, yet you could hear their references in there from early Detroit house music, to the clean production styles reminiscent of Dr Dre, to the song structure that gives a nod to the staples of 70s FM rock. Plus, their use of samples was innovative and had a hip hop aesthetic to it; to give an example, taking a short, George Benson guitar loop and twisting it up into something primal like Bangalter’s Spinal Scratch using a chopped up style that you expect from a Pete Rock or DJ Premier production. I had a lot of fun doing this(going in live and keeping vinyl only takes me back to breaking out a TDK D-90 and doing a mix straight to cassette) and I hope you enjoy listening to it!

So there you have it, and in case you missed the incredible first fifty five instalments featuring mixes from DJs Rob Pursey, Superix, James Lebens, DJ Ayres, DJ Dub, DJ Hudson, Matt Evans, Spin Doctor, Matthew Africa, Cosmo Baker, DJ Eleven, Big Jacks, Drew Huge, Donsta. J-Squared, Superix, 7L, Rookie, DJ Co-Op, Superix, Matt Evans, Y.O.K.O., Rob, Akuma, Superix, Spin Doctor, Dee Rock, Jimmy Plates, DJ Detail, Chris Read, Jerry Jones, Pete Humphries & Leroy Nockholds – you can still download them all here  or stream here. Watch out for another ‘Twelve 12s coming very soon… For track listing and running order – see the cover